People in the News

May 1 - United Way of the Coastal Empire Volunteers Celebrate Volunteer Excellence

Category: People in the News

Savannah Business Journal Staff Report

May 1, 2018 - United Way Volunteers held its 39th Annual Volunteer Awards luncheon celebrating the giving spirit of volunteers who made a difference in the lives of others.  More than 250 people attended the event held at Savannah Station.  

Various community organizations in Bryan, Chatham, Effingham, and Liberty counties nominated individuals as a way to say thank you for their exceptional service. Winners were selected from a field of 56 nominees in each of five categories. The winners and the organizations they served are as follows: 

The Herschel V. Jenkins Volunteer of the Year Award was selected from the winners above.  Mr. Jenkins was a visionary and a community building volunteer who believed in the work of United Way and the importance of giving back to the community.  The award went to Brad Green.  A monetary prize of $1,000 was awarded to Family Promise of Effingham.

A $500 scholarship award, given by Critz Auto Group, was presented to the highest scoring youth individual in honor of their outstanding service.  The winner of this is award was Cera Schulke for her volunteer service through Coastal Pet Rescue

Additionally, United Way Volunteers acknowledges the critical role that professional volunteer administrators play in each of our nominees’ service with the Shirley Sessions Volunteer Administrator of the Year Award.  Shirley Sessions, a veteran leader of United Way Volunteers, is a passionate and dedicated advocate who understands and embodies the power of service to make our community stronger.  The 2018 Volunteer Administrator of the Year award went to Lily McCormick of Senior Citizens Inc.

Special thanks go out to a panel of community volunteers who took extra time evaluating the nominees.  Serving as Volunteer Awards judges were Rabbi Robert Haas, Congregation Mickve Israel; Betsy Able, South University; Cindy Jefferies, 2017 SCCPS Teacher of the Year; Alton Wright, Gulfstream Aerospace; Selah Gardiner, Community Representative; and Louise Coniglio, Georgia Association for Volunteer Administration.


Overall Rating (0)

0 out of 5 stars

Leave your comments

Post comment as a guest

0 / 300 Character restriction
Your text should be in between 10-300 characters
Your comments are subjected to administrator's moderation.
terms and condition.
    • No comments found