google-site-verification: google5ae98130f18ad244.html

Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Text Size

Aug. 26 - 2019 City of Savannah Municipal Election Qualified Candidates

Category: Local Govts & Politics

Savannah Business Journal Staff Report

August 26, 2019 - The following individuals have qualified for the City of Savannah Municipal Election, which will be held on Tuesday, Nov. 5, 2019. The offices include 3 positions elected City-wide and 6 seats elected by District. All offices are for four year terms beginning Jan. 1, 2020 and ending Dec. 31, 2023. 


Eddie DeLoach*
Van Johnson
Regina Thomas
Louis Wilson, Sr.

Alderman, Post 1 - At Large

Carol Bell*
Kesha Gibson Carter

Alderman, Post 2 - At Large

Alicia Blakely
Tony Center

District 1

Bernetta Lanier
Peter Pannizzo

District 2

Bill Durrence*
Detric Leggett

District 3

John Hall*
Linda Wilder-Bryan

District 4

Nick Palumbo

District 5

Estella Edwards Shabazz*

District 6

Antonio Hunter
Kurtis Purtee
Tony Thomas*

Incumbents are marked with an asterisk (*). For candidates running unopposed, they must receive at least one vote in the Municipal Election to be declared a winner.

In a race of three or more, the candidate must receive 50% plus one vote to be declared the winner.  If there is no winner, a runoff is held between the two candidates receiving the most votes. The runoff is scheduled 28 days after the General Election.

For more information or assistance, contact Mark Massey, City of Savannah Clerk of Council, at 912-651-6441, or visit

Overall Rating (0)

0 out of 5 stars

Leave your comments

Post comment as a guest

0 / 300 Character restriction
Your text should be in between 10-300 characters
Your comments are subjected to administrator's moderation.
terms and condition.
    • No comments found
    CLICK to SUBSCRIBE and Support Great Journalism!

    Follow Us!

    Coastal Empire News
    Headquarters: 2222 Bull Street,Savannah, GA. 31401.
    Tel: 912-220-2759 | Hours: 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.