google-site-verification: google5ae98130f18ad244.html

Thursday, February 20, 2020
Text Size

Nov. 6 - Chatham County Election Results

Category: Local Govts & Politics

Savannah Business Journal Staff Report

November 6, 2019 - The message from voters in Chatham County was clear last night, with challengers holding strong across the board. 

Two races in Savannah — Mayoral and District 6 Alderman — will be headed to a run-off on Dec. 3. Incumbent Mayor Eddie DeLoach received 40 percent of the vote, with Alderman Van Johnson in the lead with approximately 46 percent of the vote. 

Incumbent Tony Thomas of District 6, who garnered around 46 percent of the vote, will face off against challenger Kurtis Purtee who received 39 percent. 

Even with the run-offs, the Council-elect is the first majority woman Council in Savannah and has a large African American majority. 

Chatham County SPLOST (Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax) passed with 68 percent approval from voters, and the Freeport Referendum passed with 58 percent. 

Below is the breakdown of votes for City of Savannah, and the list of winners across Chatham County.

(I) = Incumbent

* = Runoff

Bolded = Winner


Van Johnson* - 11,394 votes

Eddie DeLoach (I)* - 9,810 votes

Regina Thomas - 3,347 votes

Lous Wilson - 209 votes


Savannah-Council At Large, Post 1

Kesha Gibson-Carter - 11,559 votes

Carol Bell (I) - 11,304 votes


Savannah-Council At Large, Post 2

Alicia Blakely - 13,636 votes

Tony Center - 9,140 votes


Savannah-Council District 1

Bernetta Lanier - 2,452 votes

Peter Pannizzo - 510 votes


Savannah-Council District 2

Detric Leggett - 2,006 votes

Bill Durrence (I) - 1,427 votes


Savannah-Council District 3

Linda Wilder-Bryan - 2,177 votes

John Hall (I) - 1,953 votes


Savannah-Council District 4

Nick Palumbo - ran unopposed


Savannah-Council District 5

Estella Shabazz - ran unopposed


Savannah-Council District 6

Tony Thomas (I)* - 2,057 votes

Kurtis Purtee* - 1,740 votes

Antonio Hunter - 624 votes


Garden City

Mayor - Don Bethune (I) 

District 3 - Natalyn Bates Morris

District 4 - Richard Lassiter Jr.

Freeport Exemption - Passes

Sunday Alcohol Sales - Passes



Mayor - Rebecca Benton

Council - Tom Hutcherson, Karen Williams, Shannon Black (I), Aaron Higgins, John Wilcher, Stevie Wall (I)


Port Wentworth

Council At Large - Thomas Barbee (I)

Council District 2 - Mark Stephens (I)

Council District 4 - Glenn Jones


Tybee Island

Mayor - Shirley Sessions

Council - Barry Brown (I), Nancy DeVetter, Jay Burke, Michael Spec Hosti (special election)

Overall Rating (0)

0 out of 5 stars

Leave your comments

Post comment as a guest

0 / 300 Character restriction
Your text should be in between 10-300 characters
Your comments are subjected to administrator's moderation.
terms and condition.
    • No comments found
    CLICK to SUBSCRIBE and Support Great Journalism!

    Follow Us!

    Coastal Empire News
    Headquarters: 2222 Bull Street,Savannah, GA. 31401.
    Tel: 912-220-2759 | Hours: 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.